675 SW Rimrock
Redmond, OR 97756
Phone: 541-923-4800
Fax: 541-548-0809
Email: rhs-info@redmondschools.org

Special Education

Student Services Department: 541-923-5437

Special Education Staff

Name Role Email
Sherry Brooke  ERC Teaching Staff sherry.brooke@redmondschools.org
Jana Eberle  ERC Teaching Staff jana.eberle@redmondschools.org
Reagon Gilbertson  ERC Teaching Staff reagon.gilbertson@redmondschools.org
Wes Lipskey  ERC Teaching Staff wes.lipskey@redmondschools.org
Sylvia Otten ILS Teacher sylvia.otten@redmondschools.org

Educational Resource Center
The ERC focus is on supporting students within the general education curriculum and classroom. Students will receive support and instruction based on the student’s Individual Education Program (IEP) which may include the following core and expanded core areas:

  • Reading
  • Mathematics
  • Writing
  • Core curricular areas
  • Social Skills
  • Communication
  • Study Skills
  • Course planning for meeting graduation requirements

Learning Essentials Class
This class is for students who require additional assistance and academic support. The ERC teacher works with a variety of student’s on an individual or small group basis and assists students in monitoring their academic progress.

Summary of In-district Alternative Programs
The Redmond School District provides a variety of programs to serve the needs of students at the high school level:

  • Educational Resource Center
  • Behavioral Services
  • Community Access Program/Functional Academics and Career Tutoring services
  • Independent Living Skills

All programs focus on the alignment of instruction with the Career-Related Learning Standards established by the State of Oregon.

  • Personal Management: Exhibit appropriate work ethic and behaviors in school, community, and workplace.
  • Problem Solving: Apply decision-making and problem-solving techniques in school, community, and workplace.
  • Functional Academic and Community Transition (FACT): Students work towards functional academics and independence to ensure successful transition into the job world, transition center, or career after high school.
  • Communication: Demonstrate effective communication skills to give and receive information in school, community, and workplace.
  • Teamwork: Demonstrate effective teamwork in school, community, and workplace.
  • Employment Foundation: Demonstrate academic, technical, and organizational knowledge skills required for successful employment.
  • Career Development: Demonstrate career development skills in planning for post-high school experiences.
  • Independent Living Skills: Students work towards independence in all the life skills areas to ensure transition into the job world or transition center as a highly functioning and contributing member of our society.
    • This program serves students who are affected by moderate to severe handicapping conditions and students with significant medical needs who require more individual support in order to access their education in the least restrictive environment.
    • Students in the RHS ILS program, after graduation, may qualify for transition services, through the age of 21.
    • The students in this program participate in the following courses and activities:
      • Life Skills
      • Functional Academics
      • Social Skills
      • Community Access
      • Adaptive Physical Education
      • Vocational Technology skills
      • Communication
      • Inclusion in general education classes